Interviews / People

Q & A with Adelaide artist Arlon Hall

As a curious person myself, I’m always interested in what drives people to create  – their motivating forces, inspirations, goals, and past and future experiences. With so many local artists doing their thing in Adelaide, a mix of differing art work is continuously being created, giving new meaning to what ‘art’ really is. I was lucky enough to chat to a local Adelaide artist Arlon Hall, who is an example of this thriving and refreshing South Australian creative scene that is changing the way art is absorbed and understood by the public.

Tell us a bit about how you started as an artist and your studies in visual arts?

Like most artists I was interested in art as a child. My father played music while I was growing up, so I was always around a creative atmosphere from a young age. I remember all of our family would receive a nice set of coloured pencils from our grandparents at a certain age, so that really sparked the enthusiasm to begin to create. I then studied Visual Art at the South Australian School of Art (Uni SA) and completed honours there in 2011. Since graduation, I have been a studio member of Fontanelle Gallery and Studios in Bowden. This has allowed me to continue practicing and has opened up many opportunities.

Who is your biggest inspiration as an artist? Who is your artist ‘crush’… (Mine has always been Jackson Pollock) 


It’s really hard to pick one, so I’ll take the easy way out and select a few. Cy Twombly, Keith Haring, Jean Michel Basquiat, John Olsen and Fred Williams are all favourites, but my biggest inspiration as an artist are contemporary Adelaide artists who are doing rad things here and now. People like Henry Jock Walker, Amy Joy Watson, Ben Leslie, Brigid Noone, Mary Jean Richardson, Min Wong, Kasper Schmidt Mumm, Aida Azin, Elyas Alavi, Carly Snoswell, Anna Horne James Dodd, Tom Borgas, Christian Lock and Paul Hoban are just a few people who inspire me every day to continue to produce work.

15033776_10154698445933980_771423434_n

What are your favourite materials to use as a visual artist?

For me, I love paint. At present I am mainly working with acrylic paint, but the sensation of creating a new colour is something that really excites me about my art making process, so whether it be oil, enamel or acrylic, the creation of a new colour is still very special to me. I have started exploring new mediums that translate my work into sculptural forms. PVC pipe, plastic balls, shipping rope, pool noodle and latex have allowed me to pursue this transition into sculptural forms of my paintings.

Where do you see yourself in a few years?  Will you still be making art?

Definitely. One great thing about being an artist is that there is plenty of time to get it done, I’ll (hopefully) be able to continue to practice until my later years in life. I work as a high school art teacher as well and for me, it is very important to be a practicing artist while I am teaching. In a few years I would have liked to had an interstate show and maybe have gone on some more artist residencies.

15033749_10154698462003980_436742782_n

Thank you to Arlon Hall for participating in the Q & A. Wishing you all the very best for your bright artistic future.

Leave a Reply

